NASA sees Hector’s massive eye after passing Hawaii (News)

0
13

IMAGE

IMAGE: On Aug. 9 at 8:25 a.m. EDT (1225 UTC) NASA’s Aqua satellite tv for pc discovered coldest cloud high temperatures of strongest thunderstorms in Hurricane Hector have been in its western quadrant. Temperatures have been…
view extra 

Credit score: NRL/NASA

Hurricane Hector continued to maneuver west by means of the Central Pacific Ocean when NASA’s Aqua satellite tv for pc handed overhead and noticed the storm’s massive eye that was a results of eyewall substitute.

Now that Hector has handed the Hawaiian Islands and is headed west, a tropical storm watch is in impact for Johnston Island. A tropical storm watch means tropical storm circumstances are attainable inside the subsequent 48 hours. On the forecast path, the middle of Hector is predicted to move to the north of Johnston Island late Friday, Aug. 10.

At 5 a.m. EDT (0900 UTC) on Aug. 9 (11 p.m. HST on Aug. 8) NOAA’s Central Pacific Hurricane Middle mentioned “Based mostly on reflectivity information from the South Level WSR-88D radar om the Large Island, microwave pictures, and satellite tv for pc information, it appeared that Hector went by means of an eyewall substitute cycle late this afternoon. Since this reorganization of the hurricane seems to be full now, the attention of Hector has warmed and change into a lot better outlined in infrared satellite tv for pc imagery in the course of the previous few hours.”

On Aug. 9 at 8:25 a.m. EDT (1225 UTC) the Average Decision Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument aboard NASA’s Aqua satellite tv for pc analyzed Hurricane Hector’s cloud high temperatures in infrared gentle. MODIS discovered cloud high temperatures of strongest thunderstorms have been positioned west of the middle. In that space, cloud high temperatures have been as chilly as or colder than minus 70 levels (crimson) Fahrenheit (minus 56.6 levels Celsius). Cloud high temperatures that chilly point out sturdy storms which have the aptitude to create heavy rain, so the heaviest rain was possible falling on Hector’s western aspect.

Hector’s Power and Place

At 11 a.m. EDT (5 a.m. HST/1500 UTC), the middle of Hurricane Hector was positioned close to 16.6 levels north latitude and 160.1 levels west longitude. Hector was shifting towards the west close to 16 mph (26 kph) and this basic movement is predicted to proceed by means of in the present day. A gradual flip towards the west-northwest is predicted from tonight by means of late Friday.

Most sustained winds are close to 120 mph (195 kph) with larger gusts. Hector is a class three hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale. Little change in energy is forecast by means of Friday evening. The estimated minimal central stress is 957 millibars.

Hawaii Coping with Harmful Surf

Swells generated by Hector ought to start to influence Johnston Island tonight. This can possible produce massive and harmful waves alongside parts of the island from late tonight by means of Friday evening.

Conserving Watch as Hector Strikes

Pursuits within the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands, together with Halfway and Kure Atolls and the Papahanaumokuakea Marine Nationwide Monument west of Pearl/Hermes, ought to monitor the progress of Hector. This doesn’t embody the primary Hawaiian Islands.

For up to date forecasts on Hector, go to the CPHC web site:

http://www.prh.noaa.gov/cphc/

###

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! aren’t chargeable for the accuracy of News releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing establishments or for the usage of any info by means of the EurekAlert system.

READ  Focused radiotherapy for breast most cancers provides good high quality of life and fewer unwanted effects (News)

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.