Fields medal: UK refugee wins ‘largest maths prize’ (News)


Caucher Birkar

Picture copyright
Uni Cambridge

Picture caption

Caucher Birkar was born in Iran however now works on the College of Cambridge

One of the vital prestigious prizes in arithmetic has been handed out at a ceremony in Brazil.

Caucher Birkar, Alessio Figalli and Peter Scholze, and Akshay Venkatesh are all honoured for main contributions to their respective areas in arithmetic.

Prof Birkar, a Kurd, got here to the UK as a refugee from Iran.

The Fields Medals are awarded each 4 years to probably the most promising mathematicians below the age of 40.

Every winner receives a 15,000 Canadian-dollar money prize.

Kurdish mathematician Caucher Birkar, who turned 40 this month, was born in Iran however is now primarily based on the College of Cambridge, UK.

He informed Quanta journal that, whereas learning for his undergraduate diploma on the College of Tehran, he travelled to the UK and sought political asylum there.

He stated that whereas rising up, his maths membership in Tehran had photos of Fields Medal winners lining the partitions.

“I checked out them and stated to myself, ‘will I ever meet one in all these individuals?’ At the moment in Iran, I could not even know that I might be capable of go to the West,” he stated.

Prof Brikar is understood for his work on birational geometry and has beforehand gained the distinguished Leverhulme Prize.

Alessio Figalli, 34, was born in Rome however works at ETH Zurich, a science and know-how college in Switzerland. He’s an skilled on calculus of variations and partial differential equations.

“This prize offers me a lot pleasure,” Mr Figalli informed the Italian News company Ansa. “It’s such a giant factor that I am struggling to imagine that I’ve obtained it.”

“It’s a nice stimulus for the long run,” he added. “It can encourage me to work in my analysis fields to attempt to produce research of a really excessive degree”.

Picture copyright

The youngest of the 4, Peter Scholze, who’s 30, works on the College of Bonn. His analysis focuses on the intersection between quantity concept and geometry. He was broadly tipped to win the prize forward of the announcement.

The Australian Dr Venkatesh, 36, research quantity concept and illustration concept.

Prof Martin Hairer, from Imperial School London, who was awarded the Fields Medal in 2014, stated the medal could possibly be transformative for the winners.

He informed BBC News: “As you’ll be able to think about, their standing will immediately change from ‘extremely revered researcher within the space of XXX’ to ‘superstar within the arithmetic group’. Within the quick time period, this may give them a degree of publicity that mathematicians are sometimes not used to they usually’ll have to determine methods to cope with that.”

“At a much less ephemeral degree, it makes them figureheads inside arithmetic for his or her space of analysis, so they’ll spend far more time speaking to a broader viewers than what they’re in all probability used to.”

Picture copyright

Picture caption

Cedric Villani made a transfer into politics after successful the medal

There have been 56 winners, although one in all them – the Russian Grigori Perelman – declined the award in 2006. Dr Perelman was famously reclusive and shunned consideration in favour of engaged on his favoured fields.

There was just one lady winner – the Iranian Maryam Mirzakhani. A professor at Stanford College within the US, she died in 2017.

Cédric Villani made a transfer into politics after successful the prize in 2010. Final 12 months, he turned a Nationwide Meeting member in his native France for Emmanuel Macron’s En Marche celebration.

Martin Hairer added: “On the finish of the day, whereas among the laureates have capitalised on their medal to provoke a change of profession (Cédric Villani involves thoughts), most of them proceed to supply excellent analysis of their chosen space and, to a big extent, lead the identical form of life as some other extremely profitable mathematician.”

A minimum of two, and ideally 4 individuals, are at all times honoured within the prize award ceremony.

The prize was inaugurated in 1932 on the request of Canadian mathematician John Charles Fields, who ran the 1924 Arithmetic Congress in Toronto.

The medals themselves are nonetheless produced by the Canadian mint.

The awards have been introduced on the Worldwide Congress of Mathematicians in Rio de Janeiro.

Observe Paul on Twitter.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.